What flight school for my PPL?

This is a forum where student pilots can post their questions for more experienced pilots and instructors to answer

Moderator: mark

aisling2308
Unverified User
Unverified User

What flight school for my PPL?

Post by aisling2308 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 3:14 pm

I am 16 years old and I live in Co. Mayo. As an aspiring airline pilot, I take great interest in aviation and often visit my local airport, Ireland West Airport Knock. I am interested in gaining my Private Pilots Licence but I am not too sure where to do it and how much it costs. I have done a lot of research on this particular topic but I am unable to decide whether to go to Connaught Aero Club, the National Flight Centre or any other flying school for that matter.

I would like to know your experiences with Flying Schools in Connacht or in any part of Ireland and why you would recommend them. I would also like to know any relevant prices because I am eager to begin my training.

Thank you in advance for your replies. :)

(If you wish to see how ambitious I am to be a pilot, please don't hesitate to pop over to my blog. http://aislingt.blogspot.com/)

ma11achy
Unverified User
Unverified User

Re: What flight school for my PPL?

Post by ma11achy » Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:16 pm

Hi there,

Well, it looks like you're well on your way to being a pilot! Asking questions is a great way of finding out what to do next.

I'll try and help out here, as I was in your situation a long time ago and I did the same thing.

First things first, training to be a pilot costs money. Lots and lots of money. If you have access to lots and lots of money then - great! There's no problems in getting to be a pilot :)