Hour Building

This is a forum where student pilots can post their questions for more experienced pilots and instructors to answer

Moderator: mark

AidanR2007
Verified User
Verified User

Hour Building

Post by AidanR2007 » Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:59 am

Hi Guys,

Right now I am studying for my ATPL's I just want to get some advice on were would be the best place to hour build. I keep looking at the USA but some of it seems to good to be true, will be going around September so any stories good or bad about the places you when would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Aidan

Lambada Crazy
Verified User
Verified User

Post by Lambada Crazy » Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:13 pm

Hi Aidan,

If you wanted to go to the States i would recomend Ormond Beach Aviation for your hour Building. However, its nearly as cheap to do it here in ireland. If you go to Waterford Aero Club, you will see that they have 2 brand new aircraft. and their rental rates are 125 per tach hour, which if you average that you do 0.6-0.7 tach per clock hour, that works out at 7500 for 100 hours, and you get to bring your family and friends flying!

Their website is www.waterfordaeroclub.com

LC
When a flight is proceeding incredibly well, something was forgotten.

mr crow
Unverified User
Unverified User

Post by mr crow » Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:39 pm

Last edited by mr crow on Sat Jan 09, 2010 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Glenn
Verified User
Verified User

Post by Glenn » Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:01 pm

Waterford Aero club you also have to pay an additional 175 annual membership. Plus if you dont live in Waterford you also need to incur the expense of travel and time.

We all know the weather plays a huge roll, so to do these 100 hours you might be hanging around for a long time in Irealnd. Where as in America at least you can almost be assured of getting a decent block of hours done in a short amount of time.

If time isnt a problem sticking around here may be an option.