While the weather outside is frightful...
  • Zyox
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:00 am
    Location: Dublin
    Contact:

    While the weather outside is frightful...

    by Zyox » Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:09 pm

    ... experiment with plugging a 40inch TV into your computer to run flight sim :D

    http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~zyox/sim/

    X-Plane wins by the way!
    ::: Image :::
  • kilo delta
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 10:29 pm
    Location: Athlone

    by kilo delta » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:39 pm

    Great setup :D I've run FSX on my 47" full hd lcd tv's in the past....... missus wasn't too impressed though :oops:
    For day to day simming I run FSX on my pc connected to a dell 30" 3008wfp lcd monitor :)
  • Zyox
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:00 am
    Location: Dublin
    Contact:

    by Zyox » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:20 pm

    Oh don't worry it only lasted a couple of hours.
    The TV was far too big and bright, plus the desk started to sag too much >_<
    Fun though!
    ::: Image :::
  • michael747
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 657
    Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:24 pm
    Location: Cambridge Airport

    by michael747 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:21 pm

    It looks the business :shock:
    I've an Intel QX9650 in an evelope somewhere here at home and
    keep meanin to build a PC solely for FSX.
    I haven't played FS in years........
    Regards,
    M747
    :D
  • kilo delta
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 10:29 pm
    Location: Athlone

    by kilo delta » Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:02 am

    QX9650 is a great chip....will easily clock to 4ghz+. I've one in my htpc with an overclocked qx9770 in my sim pc. I'd recommend picking up a copy of fsx gold...it has fsx deluxe and the acceleration addon pack bundled together :)
  • michael747
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 657
    Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:24 pm
    Location: Cambridge Airport

    by michael747 » Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:11 pm

    kilo delta wrote:QX9650 is a great chip....will easily clock to 4ghz+. I've one in my htpc with an overclocked qx9770 in my sim pc. I'd recommend picking up a copy of fsx gold...it has fsx deluxe and the acceleration addon pack bundled together :)


    I'll be going away for at least 4 months on the 28th so when i come back i'll look into it. It's a shame not to be using it.....
    The envelope is hardly using it :lol:
    Regards,
    M747
    :D
  • Zyox
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:00 am
    Location: Dublin
    Contact:

    by Zyox » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:55 pm

    People:

    Does anyone know where to get a 737-200 download for XPlane v9?

    http://homepage.mac.com/cormacshaw/xpih ... index.html
    are all old unfortunately.

    Failing that a panel or a full download for FSX would be good.

    Thanks!
    ::: Image :::
  • kilo delta
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 10:29 pm
    Location: Athlone

    by kilo delta » Wed Mar 04, 2009 4:36 pm

    Don't know about X-Plane.....but there definitely isn't a new 737-200 for FSX. You could download the FS2004 Tinmouse 737-200 and port it into fsx, but it doesn't have a virtual cockpit and the included 2D panel probably will not work right.

    Here are a few (old) screenshots that I took of the Tinmouse in FSX...

    Image

    Image


    If you really want a classic 70's analogue gauged Boeing have a look at CaptainSim's latest 727 Pro package for FSX
  • Zyox
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:00 am
    Location: Dublin
    Contact:

    by Zyox » Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:02 pm

    Yeah I'm just in it for the cockpit stuff. Even a (good) 2D panel would be fine.
    Found one for FSX but it's very very basic and doesn't have all the overhead panel that I want.

    Thanks anyway!
    ::: Image :::
  • kilo delta
    Verified User
    Verified User
    Posts: 387
    Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 10:29 pm
    Location: Athlone

    by kilo delta » Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:25 pm

    Found this after a bit of Googling....haven't tested it though.



    http://hangarfs.blogspot.com/2008/12/fsx-panel-boeing-737-200-adv-phc-v41.html
  • littlespitfire
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:26 am
    Location: EINN
    Contact:

    by littlespitfire » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:22 am

    Want to try the real thing guys? (almost!) We had a Ryanair Captain testing our B737 NG FBT in Shannon yestrerday who said it felt like being at work! Except he wasn't doing things he would be doing at work . . .
    its operational now finally , check it out www.atlanticairventure.com
  • Zyox
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 143
    Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:00 am
    Location: Dublin
    Contact:

    by Zyox » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:58 am

    littlespitfire wrote:Want to try the real thing guys? (almost!) We had a Ryanair Captain testing our B737 NG FBT in Shannon yestrerday who said it felt like being at work! Except he wasn't doing things he would be doing at work . . .
    its operational now finally , check it out www.atlanticairventure.com


    Looking for the 737-200 specifically because it's what is used on the MCC course I'm doing.
    But thanks for the sales pitch :p

    Might actually check it out pre-simcheck! :)
    ::: Image :::
  • littlespitfire
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:26 am
    Location: EINN
    Contact:

    by littlespitfire » Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:30 am

    We have EFIS map display if you need that instead, that's what Ryanair use in Gatwick on their sim for interviews, you wont be expected to use NG displays CDUs or any autothrottle stuff as far as I know. The handling qualities of the aircraft are very close to the actual so for hand flying its really good for instrument practice, We use commercial specific software utilised by Boeing themselves, if you are intending flying NGs in the future , it will be very useful no doubt , and maybe even give you the edge over the other guy.

    That's your sales pitch!
  • N714GZ
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 205
    Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:00 pm

    by N714GZ » Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:27 pm

    Nice setup Little Spitfire. I did a pre check ride prep course in a similar sim in real 737 nose section before I started with RYR. You should look into doing something similar. Just today I advised an Irish guy with an interview coming up to do the same thing. The company I used were based near Gatwick.
    Just one point RYR interviews in EMA not LGW!


    If you ever need a 737 NG qualified pilot...look no further!!!
  • littlespitfire
    Unverified User
    Unverified User
    Posts: 17
    Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:26 am
    Location: EINN
    Contact:

    by littlespitfire » Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:27 pm

    Many Thanks!

    You can see that we really want to encourage kids and give them some focal point to find out about aviation . . . . other than air crash investigation on tv, thats all they see.
    We want to offer this type of service to people going for interviews and more in the months to come, we have not advertised yet, almost in that position now.
    We think the NG its going to be a great asset to a lot of people, short and long term.

    Please do call me, come to visit , you are most welcome (especially on days that we have Transition Yr students around- very few visiting pilots get away from us without a talk or a hand on the small sims they use!!)

    ps thanks for correction, some things are retained. . . that must have went straight out!

    Regards

    Jane

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests