ppl despair

This is a forum where student pilots can post their questions for more experienced pilots and instructors to answer

Moderator: mark

romeo sierra
Unverified User
Unverified User

ppl despair

Post by romeo sierra » Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:03 pm

hi all
im currently doing my ppl eick, i am an older student and currrently iv done about 55 hrs have been doing lessons for 12 mths , im at the nave x stage 3rd one. feels like there is no end in sight. wx really messed me up this summer ( if u can call it that). have my teory in nov. can anyone advise me on when i am looking at completing my ppl in reality. for someone who only plans on flying as a hobby maybe buying in on an aircraft something economical, should i do ir or multi next or is this a waste.
thanks
sm

Sierra Papa
Unverified User
Unverified User

Post by Sierra Papa » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:16 pm

Hi,

Keep the faith!
The weather in this country in not exactly perfect for aviating but don't get discouraged, keep bookin lots of lessons and some days will be bright and some wont. We all had to go that way - you set of for your well planned nav-ex just to find out that you must turn back 10 minutes later or maybe you do't even get to take off in the first place. If you get your exams in Nov (good luck), Hope for a few sunny days in Dec and you have your PPL before X-mass.

When it comes to the future I would rent an aircraft and fly to as many places in Ireland as possible, get to know people and it'll soon be clear if you want to buy in or rent or join a club.

All the best. Sierra Papa

romeo sierra
Unverified User
Unverified User

ppl despair

Post by romeo sierra » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:27 pm

thanks siera papa for advice.

EiMPB
Verified User
Verified User

Post by EiMPB » Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:30 am

Hi Romeo Sierra,

I agree with Sierra Papa, Keep at it!

Theres nothing like the feeling of the first flight on your own licence and bringing the first passenger with you! Its a feeling I'll never forget!