When should i start

This is a forum where student pilots can post their questions for more experienced pilots and instructors to answer

Moderator: mark

airbus
Unverified User
Unverified User

When should i start

Post by airbus » Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:42 pm

Im going to get a little personal now.
I am certain an airline pilot is the life for me and i think i will go to PTC to train but i was wondering if it would stupid of me to start training at a young age like 18 or should i hold off a while. The reason im worried about this is i dont know if i would be capable yet of taking this step and if i am not what should i do to kill time. :? :?

Zyox
Unverified User
Unverified User

Post by Zyox » Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:39 pm

Bachelor of Arts in UCD? :P
::: Image :::

michael747
Verified User
Verified User

Post by michael747 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:46 am

Hey there,

I started training for my PPL at 16 and i always say, The longer your doing somethin, the wiser you'll be.
I started just after my junior cert, and finally got my PPL on summer holidays from the 1st year of college college.
I studied Avionics in Carlow IT. Did it help? Of course it did.
I'm working fulltime for just over 2 years and am currently studying for the ATPL's.
Like yourself i cant remember not wanting to be an airline pilot.

That my long story cut short, Any more q's you have, PM me.

PS: Do it all moduler, It's cheaper :D and, it will take a good bit longer :(
Regards,
M747
:D

Nanolight
Verified User
Verified User

Post by Nanolight » Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:08 am

Get a technical qualification you can fall back on airbus.
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

Flyer1
Verified User
Verified User

Post by Flyer1 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:35 am

You're never too young, get the PPL out of the way for a start, then if you have the money hack straight into it. Now it'll be 3 years before you can start working for an airline, but that time will fly - excuse the pun.

FLYbyWIT
Unverified User