Shamrock more A320's

Disscusion on plane spotting, visitors, airlines, routes, airports, equipment etc.

Moderator: mark

gar787
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Finglas Dublin 11

Shamrock more A320's

Post by gar787 » Sat Jan 07, 2006 8:08 pm

Aer Lingus is to convert 2 A320 options into orders to be delivered in 2006 (thanks dowlingm)
The man who flies an airplane...must believe in the unseen
Gary Brogan,
CEO - EirMagic VA

Akerosid
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Jersey, CI

Post by Akerosid » Sun Jan 08, 2006 4:37 am

I thought it had already done this a while back?

Anyway, EI will - with the inclusion of these aircraft - have 29 A32X aircraft, of which six are 321s and 23 (currently 21), A320s.

EI has an ultimate plan to operate 42 32Xs, so expect another order soon; the 319 can't be ruled out, although the 318 most likely will be.

gar787
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:43 pm
Location: Finglas Dublin 11

Post by gar787 » Wed Jan 11, 2006 3:04 pm

Why A318s
The man who flies an airplane...must believe in the unseen
Gary Brogan,
CEO - EirMagic VA

dowlingm
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:36 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by dowlingm » Wed Jan 11, 2006 6:19 pm

gar

318 does not suit the pile 'em high sell 'em cheap mode EI are in. 318s are useful in certain circumstances (they are being modded for steep approaches) but the economics of something like a ERJ190/195 are hard to beat. Also, 318s don't have a cargo door the size of 319 and above and thus can't take containers, only bulk.

Center Bogey
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 10:05 pm

Post by Center Bogey » Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:50 pm

Think you will find the 319 and 320 are also bulk loaded! ULD's used from 321 upwards on the bus.

User avatar
VNAV PTH
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Upfront asleep.....

Post by VNAV PTH » Thu Jan 12, 2006 2:29 pm

Center Bogey wrote:Think you will find the 319 and 320 are also bulk loaded! ULD's used from 321 upwards on the bus.


A320 can use ULDs. However, many airlines will bulk load in order to attain shorter turn-around times.
Last edited by VNAV PTH on Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Screw you guys.....I`m going home.......

Center Bogey
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 10:05 pm

Post by Center Bogey » Thu Jan 12, 2006 4:02 pm

It must be a VERY small ULD to fit in a 320 hold. Never heard of anyone using them (been flying airbus for 9yrs now). But I suppose you could put one in a seminole if you really wanted to!

dowlingm
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:36 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by dowlingm » Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:31 pm

centre bogey

there used to be a schematic on airbus.com of the A319/320/321 cargo hold under various configs but it's gone now. However, my recollection is that all configs a 321 can do a 319 can do, just less of it in total volume (4 LD3-46s as opposed to 7 in a 320 and 10 in a 321 is what a google says).

User avatar
Dutch Roll
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 871
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: shannon
Contact:

Post by Dutch Roll » Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:34 pm

is the A318 in the A320 series,like the A319/20/21???
115 VAC @400Hz

Akerosid
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Jersey, CI

Post by Akerosid » Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:06 pm

Yes, the 318 is a 100-110 seater; hasn't done too well. AF is the major European user, Frontier in the US and LAN Chile has recently ordered them too.

Airbus has recently launched a business jet version, the 318 Elite.

The 318 is powered by CFM56 engines; PW proposed a 6000 model, but it "never got off the ground".

corkspotter
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 11:28 pm
Location: Cork

A320 and ULD's

Post by corkspotter » Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:18 am

Just a quick note on the ULD's. Don't work for Aer Lingus but have noticed all the Cork based A320's are ULD's. The last 2 summer seasons, Air Luxor used ULD's on their A320's. In saying that, they are the only airline that i have despatched that have ULD's on their A320's. Slows down the turnaround...

Paul

dowlingm
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:36 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by dowlingm » Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:52 am

Mexicana are also 318 users. PW6000 might take off now Elite is on the scene - I understand both engines are getting the steep approach cert. (LAN's 318s will be PW6000s, the rest of the 32x IAE V2500s.)

User avatar
OW wright
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 6:49 pm
Location: Navan, Co. Meath

uld's

Post by OW wright » Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:31 pm

aer lingus use uld 's on all of their airbus aircraft, wereas the 737's of ryanair all have to be hand loaded. i think you'll find that it is quicker loading and off loading an airbus 330 with uld's than doing it by hand.

User avatar
Dutch Roll
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 871
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: shannon
Contact:

Post by Dutch Roll » Sat Jan 14, 2006 3:36 pm

sorry but whats ULD?? is that the cargo floor with balls that move with a joystick??
115 VAC @400Hz

User avatar
VNAV PTH
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 6:19 pm
Location: Upfront asleep.....

Post by VNAV PTH » Sat Jan 14, 2006 4:43 pm

ULD = Unit Load Device

The silver baggage containers for cargo holds.
Screw you guys.....I`m going home.......

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests