Economics of owning a plane?

This is a forum for discussing General Aviation in Ireland

Moderator: mark

hibby
Verified User
Verified User

Economics of owning a plane?

Post by hibby »

I'm studying for my PPL at the National Flight Centre, and with 28 hours logged I'm expecting to be solo soon, and possibly doing exams this year. So far I have only ever flown a Cessna 150.

When I'm qualified I would like to buy a plane, and I'm wondering if this is realistic or if there are any obstacles I should be aware of.

- I am told that typical fixed costs for a single engine plane are in the region of EUR8,000 per year. Is this correct?

- I would be looking at the cheaper end of the second-hand market; my budget might be around EUR50,000. I see a lot of nice (but old) two- and four-seaters on sale in this range. Anything I should be aware of/looking out for?

- My purpose in having the plane would be touring and holidays, with the intention of being able to travel for example to the UK, France, Germany, and Denmark. Is this reasonable if I get, for example, a Cessna 172?

Note, I am not looking for detailed recommendations at this stage. I am really wondering if my dream is achievable or wholly unrealistic.

Of course I would be open to the option of shared ownership. But ideally my preference would be to own a plane outright, and I would welcome any advice you may have based on your own knowledge or experience.

hibby
Verified User
Verified User

Post by hibby »

A follow-up question to my own post:

- If I buy a UK-registered plane and import it, what would be the implications? Does it have to be re-registered as EI-? Is this expensive? Are there Customs Duties or other import duties to pay?

I might be asking the wrong questions here, but what I really want to know is; are there any hidden costs that I am blissfully unaware of?

robertd
Unverified User
Unverified User

no fees

Post by robertd »