This is a forum for discussing General Aviation in Ireland

Moderator: mark

Lynn
Verified User
Verified User

AAIU Reports

Post by Lynn » Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:48 pm

Hello all,
Please cut some slack to a newbie if I'm posting in the wrong place as I'm relatively new to all this. I am a low hours flexwing student from the central plain with an insatiable appetite for all things related to aviation. Sometimes I am a bit nervous about this whole flying thing but I try to reason that it is a calculated risk or at least an educated one.
My education includes reading accident reports and this leads to my question.
Why are there gaps in the sequence of reports? Why are some reports not published while those relating to much later incidents are freely available? It concerns me that a high profile accident relating to my chosen type seems to have been pigeon holed. I'm sure that there are valuable lessons to be learned from such an incident.
I sincerely hope that there is a rational explanation and that the report will issue in due course. Failing that, one would have to question the value of an impartial investigation unit who seem to favour the chosen few.
I look forward to some discussion on this or am I just flying a kite on a calm day?
Regards
Lynn

JFH
Unverified User
Unverified User

Post by JFH » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:29 am

A
Last edited by JFH on Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Flange Bracket
Unverified User
Unverified User

Re: AAIU Reports

Post by Flange Bracket » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:23 am

You will also notice that the IAA is never criticised or mentioned. Also the two big Irish airlines are given the opportunity to correct any findings before a report is finalised and those finding are then removed from the report!

Raven 912
Verified User
Verified User

Post by Raven 912 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:49 am

Hi Lynn