This is a forum for discussing General Aviation in Ireland

Moderator: mark

Seimi
Unverified User
Unverified User

Aerial Photography Flights Carlow and Dublin

Post by Seimi »

Hello,
My name is Seimi O Murchu. I am a PhD student in the UCD School of Archaeology researching the Irish uplands using aerial imagery which includes everything from Kite Aerial Photography to Satellite images. I am going through aerial photography sources in Ireland but one of the things I want to do is get up in the air myself over the areas I will be studying to get an idea of the landscape from that perspective and also to take some photographs for myself. Aerial photography will help identify previously unknown archaeological features in the uplands and will also help to enhance knowledge on previously recorded sites as the top-down perspective might highlight certain features such as banks and ditches which are otherwise invisible on the ground.

I was wondering if anyone here either flies themselves or knows someone who flies around the Blackstairs Mountains or the Dublin Mountains/ North Wicklow Mountains? These will be my study areas. What would the cost involved be for me to join someone on a flight to take photographs? What are the possibilities of flying the same area a few times a year to take advantage of differential vegetation growth and even snow cover? Preferably it would be a high winged plane where the window can be opened such as a Cessna 172. If anyone could help me with this I have a number of other questions but this hopefully will get the ball rolling for now.
Any help anyone can provide would be of great assistance to me
Thanks
Seimi

StrikeCommand
Verified User
Verified User

Re: Aerial Photography Flights Carlow and Dublin

Post by StrikeCommand »

A lot of these issues will have been covered in other posts on this site: