FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

This is a forum for discussing General Aviation in Ireland

Moderator: mark

Post Reply
Pilot
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 4:39 pm

FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

Post by Pilot » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:50 pm

I just noticed a new IAA AIC number 09/09, which is about to come into effect.

It says that they are moving to a new licensing computer system, which should have 'minimal impact on industry'.

However it does mention "Current Licence numbers are in an alphanumeric format. It may be necessary to move to numeric only format in the new system. Any such change will be advised in advance."

Just a head up for those of us who have an FAA airman's certificate, which is 'based on' an IAA licence. Ie. It is not a stand alone FAA certificate.

If the number on your IAA licence, changes, then your FAA Airman's certificate is no longer valid, and you'll have to reapply for another FAA Airmans certificate if you need it.

This does not affect anyone with an FAA stand alone, certificate (ie. you did the FAA skills test). It only affects those who got an FAA certificate on the basis of their IAA licence.

P

AndyMax
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:08 pm

Post by AndyMax » Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:43 pm

Good info there. That could affect a lot of people.

captain slow
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:09 am

Post by captain slow » Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:11 pm

Cheers Pilot for the heads up-will keep an eye out for the piece of paper from the IAA and try to remember to update it with the FAA.

OnTheNumbers
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:09 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

Post by OnTheNumbers » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:01 pm

Hi Pilot,

Just sent you a vaguely related pm.

David
OnTheNumbers
-------------------------------------------------------
http://www.clearofcloud.ie
@clearofcloud on Twitter, Instagram

cubpilot
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:38 am

Re: FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

Post by cubpilot » Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:16 pm

does anyone have details if FAA will reissue the licence if you contact them to give the new number or will you have to go through all the rigmarole of verification and presenting yourself to an fsdo to get a reissue just because of this number change. if the latter then the change by IAA is going to cost us dearly

shrtfld
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:01 pm
Location: Limerick

Re: FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

Post by shrtfld » Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:26 pm

As it happens I am going through the whole rigmarole at the moment to have the FAA licence updated to have English Language Competancy added. If one has to do it to have your ability to speak English added, I assume it will follow for a change in the number which is probably even more important.

I know there were posts on the language subject before. I contacted the FAA recently and they were quite categoric that foreign based FAA PPL's have to go through the entire verification process with the subsequent interview and pick-up at an FSDO to get the English Language certification noted on the FAA licence. Without it the FAA licence is invalid.

The only way around the renumbering is perhaps for the IAA to notify the FAA of the change and seek a smooth reissuing of the licences with the new numbers. It would be ideal if we could apply to the FAA quoting old and new numbers and the FAA get an email verification from IAA and reissue the FAA licence quoting new number. Then of course one would have thought that would work with the language certification.

Unless you need to go flying in the USA or need the FAA licence to fly an N reg one might best wait until the renumbering takes place.

As a matter of interest does anyone know the timeline for this?
Shrtfld

Pilot
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 4:39 pm

Re: FAA 'Based on' airmen certificates

Post by Pilot » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:30 pm

cubpilot wrote:does anyone have details if FAA will reissue the licence if you contact them to give the new number or will you have to go through all the rigmarole of verification and presenting yourself to an fsdo to get a reissue just because of this number change. if the latter then the change by IAA is going to cost us dearly
Yes you need to go through the whole process again, and visit the FSDO. A bit of a PITA.

But note the wording on the AIC. It is by no means certain that numbers will change....it just highlights the possibility that it maybe necessary. They also agree to advise in advance if it does become necessary.

P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 9 guests