Ya'll be careful with Flight Sim X!!

This is a forum for discussing General Aviation in Ireland

Moderator: mark

j3cub

Ya'll be careful with Flight Sim X!!

Post by j3cub » Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:10 pm

Post Removed

User avatar
Flyer1
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:56 pm
Location: South East

Post by Flyer1 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:26 pm

Installed it on my machine on Saturday.

I ran it fairly successfully.
- Turn off the Land and Sea Traffic ( Left the Airliners and GA on 100% )

- Scenery set to Medium Low with watter effects turned off ( they look awful IMO ).

- Set the aircraft up without the shinyness on it. ( I am yet to see a Cub with Shiny windows ).

I locked the FPS @ 37. Works away fine flying around Ireland, a solid 37FPS. Take it into any of the more populated places ( KLAX, KJFK etc.. ) it dips down to the 20's.

( A few tips for getting more performance out of your current machine. Turn the autogen off and get rid of all traffic. You should notice a huge increase in FPS then. )

I'm running FS9 with everything maxed at a solid 40FPS.

My Horsepower:

AMD Athon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
2GB RAM
512MB X1300 Graphics Card.
yada yada yada.

dreamer_757
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 7:25 pm

Post by dreamer_757 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:42 pm

Hey im mad to get my hands on flight sim,i had flight sim 98 and even thought that was great and that looks shocking compared to sims these days,but i bought flight sim 2004 and brought it back the shop the next week coz it jus wudnt work,i want to be able to get flight sim x and have no bother and enjoy the flying, any suggestions anyone, i have a very powerful laptop with 80 gigs of space and shit loads of memory

all responses are greatly appreciated
thanks homeys
whos bad?

User avatar
Flyer1
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:56 pm
Location: South East

Post by Flyer1 » Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:39 pm

What's your porcessor speed, RAM, and Video Card for a start ?

FS9 has a wealth of addons for it. I know they will be released in time, but I dont think most people have Thousands of ? to be lashing out just or a game.

bean_ian
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Dublin

Post by bean_ian » Wed Oct 18, 2006 9:39 pm

Have you checked out the avsim.com forums?
A few lads over there have done up a few texture mods, a great autogen mod and a cfg file change that have improved my fps by up to 50%.

Im running a p4 3.4ghz 1gb ram & 256mb ATI x600 and its running pretty smooth for me with all the sliders up to half and texture res up full.
I keep the road traffic down to 0(fps KILLER!!) & commercial AI at about 20% and GA at about 50%.

Make sure you turn aircraft shadowing options off but leave advanced animations on if you want to see fuel trucks,jetways and baggage trucks moving about your plane.

User avatar
Dutch Roll
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 871
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: shannon
Contact:

Post by Dutch Roll » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:02 pm

what aircraft are in it? extra to 2004??
115 VAC @400Hz

bean_ian
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Dublin

Post by bean_ian » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:10 pm

New AC are:
DeHavilland DHC-2 Beaver floatplane
Grumman G-21A
AirCreation 582SL Ultralight
Maule M7-260C Orion(Wheels & skis)
A321
B737-800
CRJ 700

they dropped most of the vintage fleet keeping the dc3 and the cub, they also dropped the 777 & the 182!

ceatach
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 538
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by ceatach » Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:14 pm

I dont know if Ill splash out on the full thing but the free download on microsoft's website was very impressive. Even with the download, I could see some of the performance issues mentioned previously. If you dont have the latest graphics card and 1gb ram+, you will have to seriously optimize your system and level of detail in the sim.
*cough*
If anyone knows any dodgy ftp site where I can get the full thing please give me a shout.

User avatar
Flyer1
Verified User
Verified User
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:56 pm
Location: South East

Post by Flyer1 » Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:58 pm

ceatach. * cough * Give me a shout on MSN and i'll let you know where to go about your quest to find FSX.

AndyMax
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:08 pm

Post by AndyMax » Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:59 am

I played the demo this morning. Seems pretty good.

Rallye EIBFP
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:56 pm

Post by Rallye EIBFP » Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:52 pm

I havent a hope running it on any of my computers :cry: :cry: :cry:

Anyone got it running on the Dell XPS? Thats a wicked system! Putting it on my christmas list!!

Frosty
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: EICK
Contact:

Post by Frosty » Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:17 pm

Reconsider your XPS notions Colm if you want to run Vista and then FSX properly. I was seriously considering an XPS but went for an Alienware instead. Dell did something funny in the BIOS with the XPS meaning that Virtualisation and EMT64, some of the C2D's key features are inoperable.
Also, even though the motherboard in the XPS supports RAM up to 800MHz, Dell did something to make it only accept 667MHz memory...
See http://www.trustedreviews.com/article.aspx?art=3453 for more info on the XPS.
Regards,
Aidan

User avatar
Maverick
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 9:15 pm
Location: Ur guess is as good as mine

Post by Maverick » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:35 pm

Dell systems also prevent overclocking of the processor and video card, so you cant get 100% performance. This is to avoid overheating blahblahblah but if done right it can seriously boost your performance

AndyMax
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:08 pm

Post by AndyMax » Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:38 pm

bought the Deluxe version today. I will report back after a few hundred hours to tell you what I think.

Rallye EIBFP
Unverified User
Unverified User
Posts: 615
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:56 pm

Post by Rallye EIBFP » Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:57 pm

If possible can ye post the prices ye got them for?

Deluxe Available ?89 and normal ?79 in Virgin Megastore here

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests